Skip to content

Programs : Brochure

This page is the brochure for your selected program. You can view the provided information for this program on this page and click on the available buttons for additional options.
  • Locations: Barranquilla, Colombia
  • Program Terms: Summer
  • This program is currently not accepting applications.
Dates / Deadlines:

There are currently no active application cycles for this program.
Fact Sheet:
Area of Study: Modern Languages & Linguistics, Spanish Program Type: UMBC Faculty-led Program
GPA Requirement: 2.5 Language of Instruction: English, Spanish
Class Standing: 1-Freshman, 2-Sophomore, 3-Junior, 4-Senior, 5-Graduate, 6-Other Faculty Leader: Milvia Hernandez
Program Description:
Spanish Language in Colombia
May 30 to July 4, 2018

 
Note: Students must have completed SPAN 102 or 103 (or equivalent credits) prior to the program’s start.
 

Faculty Overview: Professor Hernandez is form Barranquilla, Colombia. She moved to the USA after receiving her BA in Educational Psychology. She received her MA in Second Language Acquisition and Application from University of Maryland, College Park. ColombiaShe then started working at UMBC as a Lecturer and Language coordinator for Spanish 201 & 202. Her passion is teaching and hopes to bring as many UMBC students as possible to Barranquilla to improve their Spanish skills.

Course Overview: Classes will be held at the Instituto de Idiomas of the Universidad del Norte in Barranquilla, Colombia. 

SPAN 201/202/301/302: Students will earn 4 credits in Spanish 201, 202, 301, or 302 depending upon their placement in the program.
and
MLL 300 (3 credits): Colombian Caribbean Culture in an Intercultural Perspective Taught by Professor Hernandez

The Country:
Located in the northern coast of Colombia, Barranquilla is the largest industrial city and port in the Caribbean region of Colombia; it is Colombia's fourth most populous city. Thanks to its strategic geographical position in the Latin American Caribbean, Barranquilla, a cosmopolitan city, is the epicenter of cultural pulsations of the entire region. The culture of the city and the region is described as “tricultural” (AfroCaribbean, indigenous, and European), making it an ideal place for living and studying a notably diverse and intercultural population. The city is rich in folk music, art and literature. Furthermore, the warmth and friendliness of its people, its sunny and tropical environment, its growing industry and the high academic quality of its educational institutions, make Barranquilla an ideal city for international students to improve their Spanish language skills and develop their intercultural competency. 


 
Tentative Itinerary
Subject to change 
 
Monday, June 5: Welcome reception at the university and regular classes. 
Tuesday, June 6 - Thursday, June 8: Regular classes 
Friday, June 9: Cultural activities and events
Saturday, June 10 and Sunday, June 11: Cartagena visit
 
Monday, June 12 - Thursday, June 15: Regular Classes 
Friday, June 16: Cultural activities and events 
Saturday June 17 and Sunday June 18: Santa Marta and Aracataca visit
 
Monday, June 19 - Thursday, June 22:  Regular Classes 
Friday, June 23: Cultural activities and events 
Saturday, June 24: Usiacuri visit 
Sunday, June 25: A day at the beach 
 
Monday, June 26 - Thursday, June 29: Regular Classes
Friday, June 30: Cultural activities and events 
Saturday, July 1 and Sunday, July 2: Students on their own
 
Monday, July 3: Farwell reception at the Instituto de Idiomas
Tuesday, July 4: Departing to USA 

Barranquilla Plaza Cartagena
 


For more information contact: sao@umbc.edu
 



This program is currently not accepting applications.